Arsenal striker Chamakh refutes "diver" claims
Published 23:00 17/10/10 By John Cross
Marouane Chamakh denied he is a diver.
Birmingham defender Scott Dann accused the Arsenal striker of cheating to win a penalty while Roger Johnson claimed Chamakh was an “embarrassment.”
But Chamakh, who won Arsenal’s penalty and then hit the second half winner, hit back and insisted Dann did make contact.
Chamakh said: “There was definitely a contact - the Birmingham defender touched me and then it was all about the ref, to give it or not. For me there was contact, he definitely touched me and then the referee judged.
“If they think it is not a penalty then they can be disappointed but for me I was definitely touched and I fell because I was touched otherwise I wouldn’t have fallen down in the area.
“If they believe it was not a foul and they were one-nil up and obviously it changes the game a bit then its normal that they will feel disappointed now. But for me it was definitely a penalty.”
Chamakh also admitted that Arsenal cannot afford any more slip-ups in the title race but claimed he has found it easier to adapt to English football than he expected after netting his fifth goal of the campaign against Birmingham.
He added: “I still believe we can do it - when you see the way we are playing and the team we have, it’s not a problem but it will not all depend on us.
“I believe we’ll have to win all the games and then see what Chelsea and Man U, the others, the teams above us, do. Almost every game has to be won, there’s no place for any other mistake now.
“I set myself some time to adapt to English football and it seems this time is going quicker than I thought so five in nine or ten games is definitely more that what I thought at this time of the season.”